Melbourne’s home of focused, results driven
Search Engine Optimisation.


Welcome to
Search Labs SEO

Our mission:
 your information.
Make it universally accessible to Google.
Make it useful to your customers.

Jake Stepping into a Solo Adventure

Jake is stepping away from Search Labs – learn more below.

Search Labs provides the Data You Want
and the
Insights You Need

Google's View

We help you to reverse engineer the data provided by Google in order to understand what Google thinks your site is about

What You Are

We look at who your users are and where they come from, we track their interaction with your site, and help you to change what needs to change.

Align The Two

We then pull the data from Search Console and Analytics into a LIVE DASHBOARD – this allows you to track keyword performance and optimise your site in real time.

  • Search Labs provides flexible, personalised tools and training to help you gain unparalleled data and insights.
  • We implement re-targeting practices that means you only spend marketing budget wisely.
  • We build a LIVE dashboard, that ties into your customer bahaviour.


(this Melbourne search engine optimisation agency)
scan your Site,
scan your Data,
teach you how to turn it into

useful info

Below are the 3 things we would recommend looking at first.

Page Speed

Google aims to create the absolute best searcher experience, that may well be serving the most relevant result, and similarly, if they cannot serve that page fast enough, users will bounce. So, page speed – although it seems inoquoiuse, is one of the most important upgrades you can make to your site. We recommend optimising all images for speed. If you are willing to put in the time, to optimise your content, and your images, then you can load the whole thing faster than number 2. This is what you want, you need to be the fastest because Google just will not recommend a slow site. Our recommendations are to find a decent host (like WP-Engine) or AWS, or Google Cloud.

Coupled with a CDN (Content Delivery Network) like Cloudeflair or Cloudfront.

Low text to HTML ratio

When a site is built, there is a lot of ‘skeletal code’ which is the code that explains what the page should look like – and a lot of this code is identical from page to page. This in itself is not a problem, unless the content on that page is ‘thin’ or ‘shallow’ meaning that there really isn’t a lot of it. The problem becomes more apparent as there is no differentiator to Google’s algorithm, it sees each page as being 90% or 95% identical.

Tools like SEMrush (and others – check out the report service we provide) will give you a basic text to code ratio – we aim for above 15% when possible. If you think about it, Google doesn’t want to serve the same page more than once, and it probably wont want to serve a site that is predominantly made up of duplicate content.

Broken Inner Links

Clicking a link insode your site and then being served a 404 (resource not found) response is frustrating to most people, and it will most likely result in them leaving your site to find a better answer elsewhere.

So we can see that the user experience is negatively affected – but similarly, it really doesn’t help Google, as they can’t follow the link that was presented and then learn about the landing page, a 404 gives Google nothing to learn, nothing to ‘Parse’ or interpret. 

See our reports page – as we will run an internal links report outlining which pages are linking to which other pages, and whether those links are broken or not.

  • We realise that a lot of companies are not ready (their infrastructure may not be mature enough – yet) for a comprehensive SEO analysis and ‘build’
  • So we provide 2 additional services.
  1. We build out a ‘Google Data Studio report’ that shows you exactly how many impressions and clicks your site – or specific pages get, as well as which ‘query’ was used by the searcher.
  2. We offer custom extracts from SEO tools like CORA, MOZ, Majestic, SEMrush, Ahrefs, Screaming Frog, Rank Tracker, Website Auditor – these are professional tools and their output can be convoluted and difficult to understand – We will provide an easy to follow ‘things to do list’

Experienced Search Consultants You Can Trust

We don’t play, we take this seriously and we are tenacious with the terms we want to rank. Aiming high is the only kind of AIMING WE DO.





65% of searchers click on the top 3 results

Does your company have a website?

Your website should act as an employee that finds clients and leads

As far as Google is concerned….
Your business needs to be the answer to a question!

Good SEO is the art of understanding both the questions being asked as well as how Google sees your website.

If you can master these two things climbing to the first page of Google becomes easy!

The first page of Google equates to more organic traffic seeing your brand, your answer to the questions people are asking.

What our Melbourne SEO clients have to say about us…

Jake and Ev, went above and beyond their scope. They identified the causes of the issues we were having and provided clear guidance and assistance to remedy the problem. They took a very practical approach considering both our time and budget. It was a pleasure to work with them and I am very grateful for their guidance in avoiding what could have been a minor disaster.

Vick Pillay

MD & Co-Founder, MindTribes Pty Ltd

Jake and Ev have a really good handle on SEO and I would highly recommend working with them for support in optimising and improving your presence in search engines.

Steve de Niese

Founding Director, Assemblo

We hired Search Labs to do an SEO audit, a keyword analysis, and some general consulting for us.

After implementing their recommendations, our search volume and traffic quickly more than doubled, and it has continued to surge upward pretty consistently over the past six months. I think our lowest day now is higher than the best day we’d ever had before hiring them.

On top of being professionals who really know what they are doing, they’re great people to work with. You can tell that they have a real passion for solving SEO puzzles, and it shows in their results.

If you can work with people who will do an awesome job AND really enjoy giving your business a boost, why would you hire anyone else?

Adam Weiss

Founder/Head Video Producer,

Some questions Melbourne digital marketing professionals have asked:

How should I select my keywords?

No matter how many times Google updates its search algorithms one thing is always going to be true. The search giants main aim is to bring value to it’s users and provide the best possible answer to their question.

By understanding Google’s goals the keyword selection and implementation becomes significantly easier.

Whether you’re a do it yourself kind of SEO or have a team of digital ninjas on the job 24/7 the role of the SEO in keyword selection is simple. You need to understand:

  • How your target market are searching
  • How frequently they are searching
  • The queries they are actually using
  • The intent behind these queries

In order to select the right keywords that will drive more conversions on your website you need to fully understanding how your target audience ask the question, the volume of their searches and where the query is situated with regards to their buyers journey.

What is position 1 worth?

There are a couple of different ways that the value of a particular keyword in a particular position can be calculated.

By far the most common way to calculate the value of a keyword position is by calculating the value of the sales you could realistically derive from it. This method takes the form of the following equation:

Keyword value = (impressions per month/click through rate)*(conversion rate*average customer lifetime value)

Say you’re a dentist in Melbourne’s CBD. tells us that there are roughly 1,600 searches per month for “dentist melbourne cbd” and we know that statistically, about 35% of searchers will click on the 1st organic result. If our dentist client has a website that is properly optimised for conversion then a conversion rate of roughly 5% is pretty normal. Last but not least, the dentist knows that his average lifetime value for a client with a sore tooth is about $920.

Keyword value = (1600*(35/100))*((5/100)*920)

So for our dentist, first position in Google SERP for “dentist melbourne cbd” should bring in $25,760 of business per month!

As with any calculation the “rubbish in rubbish out” rule applies here and these keyword values can only be taken as correct if all of all inputs in to the equation are properly measured, checked and double checked.

At the end of the day it is your sites ability to convert your visitors in to leads and sales that will ultimately dictate the value of a particular keyword. In virtually every case we recommend that your search engine optimisation campaign be combined with the thorough conversion optimisation of your landing pages in order to maximise the return on your search marketing spend.

How many keywords should I target?

As a rule of thumb, each page on your website should have 1 target keyword. Naturally a well optimised page with a good volume of text should perform well for a range of keywords From our experience though, if you are in a highly competitive niche and are really trying to get every ounce of performance out of the page then focusing your efforts on one target keyword per page is the best way to go.

Got 8 high traffic, high competition keywords you are chasing? Then creating a dedicated page for each of them with it’s own unique content is definitely going to be the fastest road to ranking success.

At a site level we generally suggest a minimum of 5 target keywords.

How long does it take to get to page 1?

The short answer: About 12 months.

The real answer: It depends.

The time taken to climb the search rankings and get your website on to page one depends on a range of variables including but not limited to:

  • How unique is your product or brand?
  • How much control do you have over your website and it’s content.
  • How competitive is your niche?
  • How much time, money and effort are your competitors putting in to their search marketing efforts?

In our experiance though:

Months 1-2 is building the foundations uppon which the SEO campaign can be built. On page optimisation including load speed, schema, page titles, URL structures, etc. This is the grind that makes sure your later SEO efforts are a success. You will be doing SEO but be prepaired to not se any real movements in the rankings.

Months 3-4 is content time (the SEO meat and pottatoes). New pages will be created, blogs written, FAQ’s answered and your site should start looking a whole lot better to prospective clients AND to Google! You will see yourself getting indexed for new keywords but will still probably be off the front pages.

Months 5-6 Your excellent content planning and creation in months 3-4 should be paying off but don’t stop now! You should be planning press releases and starting to seriously consider your backlink profile. More content on top of content. The pros amongst us will be looking to leverage their social media accounts to supercharge their content and draw more visitors to their site. By the end of month 6 you will start to see som serious gains in he search engine rankings. Whilst not on page one you will have established a nice rate of climb and will be well on your way.

Months 6-12 Now that your website is a well oiled ranking machine, it takes less effort to keep your momentum up. The latter months of a SEO campaign are a time of tweaking, finessing and CRUSHING YOUR COMPETITION! The content creation continues, the social outreach is turned up to 11 and your new found traffic volumes make it even easier for you to attain new ranking highs. Hopefully by now your management has seen suficient gains to justify your SEO spend and has green light you for even more domination. Month 6-12 is an ideal time to focus on your websites UX and conversion optimisation so you can turn even more of those juicy visitors in to paying customers!

Put Your Web Site & Your Reputation
in Good Hands

Get In Touch

We are busy, and we would like to think that you are busy too. So we like to arrange a chat well in advance. Send us some details and we will get back to you – A S A P

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